Week 9- The challenges of implementing technology

Why can’t Siri remind me to post on time?

In this blog post I am going to discuss the challenges of implementing new ideas into classroom use.  For the last three years I have learned about so many new tools, found new websites, and different ways to teach new ideas, but I always struggle in finding way to IMPLEMENT them. The struggle for me is that I am so excited about learning everything I can about a new tool, but the act of using it in the classroom is the step that I need to get to. I tend to get stuck in the “this would be a cool idea for next year” phase.

I actually wish sometimes that I could have my high school classes sit in on my graduate classes with me, and then I can just continue to teach what we are learning. I find that some of the great ideas that I learn in my classes either don’t fit exactly into the design of the high school classes, or finding a way to implement them is just too difficult. For example, I spent many classes learning how to design a google sites website, but finding a way for me to teach that to my students is just too timely and is not manageable.  I did, however, utilize what I learned by creating a classroom website. It doesn’t have the same affect as teaching them the design of google sites, but I was using what I learned in the classroom.

One example of technology that I tried to use in the classroom is google docs. I did have all of my students create a google docs account, and I had them share their projects with other students. In recent years I have not used this tool when having them write papers, but I have instead had them do group presentations using google docs.

I just wish that I could find a way to be more creative in turning my projects into actual lessons for students. The entire idea of taking these classes is to apply what I learned to an educational environment, but I sometimes feel so busy and overwhelmed through my daily routine to finish the job. I am filled with all of these great ideas and now have a vast knowledge in the field of education technology, but I have not taken the final step and transferred that knowledge over to my students.

I am sure that the trick going forward is to block out time for planning, and to really focus on making sure that I’m “paying it forward.”  I also think it’s important that I remember why I began getting my degree in education technology in the first place. I believe that technology will always be changing, so keeping up with new technology and finding new ways to teach the current crop of students is really important.  So many teachers have been using outdated methods to educate, and I thought that it would be beneficial to change as the technology changes.

So, I have to ask myself, am I keeping up right now? I’d say that I am definitely adapting as technology adapts, but I am not sure if it transfers over to my classroom just yet.  I’d like to make that next step. Maybe that will be my 2013 goal!!

Leave a comment